What’s Been Going On: Writing, Poker and Meh

Hey Everyone,

Just an update today really. I’m at the tail end of a string of health issues. I had a throat infection/flu thing for a week had gone back to work for two days and then got food poisoning. It’s been nice having time off at home but being this ill has certainly taken the fun out of it. I’ve never had food poisoning before and that first 12 hours I’ve never been in so much pain. Not only were the stomach cramps awful but the fibro was triggered and my nerves became over sensitised, which meant I was hyper-sensitive to pain, touch, light, temperature etc. Then the fatigue went chronic for a few days and although it’s calmed down a lot, its still in the background, hitting me every now and then.

I got my acknowledgements from my science fiction short story submission (in the 2nd quarter) and should be put through my initial round of judging soon. I thought I wasn’t going to make the deadline as I missed the PO hours on the Saturday after I posted here that I was ready to send it off. Luckily I managed to get it in the mail before I was sick again, otherwise I would have missed the deadline for sure.

I’m also working on a new short story that is actually tied into the world in the second of my science fiction books. It’s going well and I may try to sell it or keep it for the next quarter of the competition, depending on how long it takes me to get it ready. I would like to get it into print, as it would help me get my name out there but it would also start to build the world I’m using in the books. Although this will be told from an angle/time that won’t be directly called upon in the books, it is part of the story and the history for sure.

And as for poker I just came out of the daily Scandinavian Freeroll and came 39th of 1059 entrants. That’s the highest I’ve made it and only 13 places away from the money seats. If I had kept my head a little at the end I might well have made it to the money before I blinded out.

Anyway that’s all I’ve got, hope the world is treating you well and if not you can bare it until it does.

Peace,  Niamh xxx

http://www.niamhbrown.com http://www.niamhstudios.com

Leave a Reply

