First Reading of my Science Fiction at Writing Group

Hej,

Well like I’ve said before in my review of 2009 and resolutions of 2010 I have joined a writing group in Copenhagen and we are meeting every 2 months. Today was the first meeting. We each sent a piece of our work beforehand so we could give feedback in the meet up. My piece was the prologue and first chapter of my science fiction series. This is the first time I’ve shared my fictional work outside immediate family and the feedback was really positive.

There was a couple of pointers and one wanted to chew on it a bit before giving feedback as it wasn’t her usual genre, but the general responce was that everyone wanted to read more and felt the characters were believable (the pointers I did get was also really useful too). I can’t say how much of a confidence boost this has been, but not only that; I got to make 5 friends today and I feel there is a great group dynamic that could prove a fertile breeding ground to help me make the next step up in my writing life. I even did a bit of networking by giving my calling card to a couple of people with my website etc.

Today I felt for the first time that this could be real. One of the ladies was an experienced journalist who had written for TV, radio and newspaper/magazines in a number of topics. She gave me the best compliment which was that she thought it worked as a concept and that she could see no reason why it couldn’t be in print. I have to say I’m over the moon (and, of course, compulsively wrote about it since its my nature heh)

Hope you all had as good a weekend as I have 😀

niamh xxx

http://www.niamhbrown.com http://www.niamhstudios.com

Leave a Reply

