One Door Closes Whilst Another Opens…

Today I Lost My Job
But there is a silver lining…

I lost my job today after 6 weeks sickness with fibromyalgia after it started to get worse. I had worked for them for 3 years and 7 months and this termination came after a friendly discussion about my return to work two weeks eariler. It was a bit of a shock but it has provided me with an opportunity: I’m going to be working to start a gaming studio with friends, whilst I’ve got severence pay for 6 months. This is something that I feel is long over due, so I’m both excited and scared at the same time heh

Here is a little taster about the game studio project:

http://theunityfield.wordpress.com

http://pinterest.com/niamhbrown/cyrano-against-the-one-hundred/

This is what we will being using to develop the game:

http://www.unity3d.com

http://www.hutonggames.com/features.html

Is there anyone else out there about to start up a business of their own, or has any other advice?
3 thoughts on “One Door Closes Whilst Another Opens…

  1. Hey Niamh, when I started my own company abpout 9 years ago – I was scared. I wasn’t sure how it was going to work out but I knew I had to have a go. I reckoned on earning about 2/3rd what I was in my job, and could survive on that. I thought maybe I could get a second job to help if need be. In my first year I nearly doubled my work salary, and in the 2nd year I tripled it! This may or may not happen with you but I urge you – enjoy the journey no matter what, AND, always think of how you can add value to your customers. Good luck and feel free to ask any questions you may have. 🙂

    • Thankyou for your comments Stuart 😀

      I also know that feeling about not knowing where the money will come from and I have allowed that fear to hold me back for some time. However, even though I still have a long way to go in this start up process, somehow money isn’t bothering me as much as I thought it would. It feels like it finally time for this to happen, so instead I’m excited and looking forward to seeing where this journey will take me.

      If I think of any questions I will let you know 😀

Leave a Reply

